Skip to content

52 have cast ballots in early voting at courthouse

By: Elizabeth Tanner—

As of Monday, July 6, 52 residents cast ballots during early voting in the three run-off elections in Garza County.

Out of 37 republican voters, 24 voted in person and 13 voted by mail-in ballot. Out of 15 democratic voters, 6 voted in person and 9 voted by mail-in ballot. Early voting began June 29.

In comparison to previous years, District and County Clerk Jim Plummer said it is hard to rival early voting numbers.

“It’s very difficult to compare runoff elections,” Plummer said. “In 2018, there was only a Democratic Party runoff and a total of 16 people voted, six of those were early.”

As for interest in this year’s election, Plummer says Covid-19 hasn’t had an impact.

“We’ve have had one call of concern about entering the courthouse to vote,” Plummer said. “We encourage curbside voting in that instance, or it can also be done on Election Day.”

Plummer additionally reminds voters that social distancing will be in place. However, masks are not mandated.

“We are practicing social distancing and other Covid-19 precautionary recommendations,” Plummer said. “I have witnessed about one-third of voters wearing a mask.

We do not mandate it but encourage wearing a mask and have them available for voters.”

Early Voting will continue through July 10 in the Clerk’s Office on the first floor of the Garza County Courthouse at 300 W. Main St.
Early ballots can be cast in person from 8 a.m. to noon and from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

If early voting is missed, voters residing in all Garza County Precincts can cast ballots on Election Day, Tuesday, July 14, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Post Community Center at 129 West Main Street, Post, Texas.

Republican Party Primary Runoff Election Official Ballot
Justice, 7th Court of Appeals District, Place 4, Unexpired Term
Larry Doss
Steven Denny

Democratic Party Primary Runoff Election Official Ballot
United States Senator Mary “MJ” Hegar, Texas’s 31st Congressional District
Royce West, Texas’s 23rd Congressional District
Railroad Commissioner Chrysta Castaneda
Roberto R. “Beto” Alonzo

For more information, please visit www. or contact the Clerk’s Office by calling 806-495-4430 or emailing elections@

Leave a Comment